History and Tradition

  • History and Tradition Indian culture can be categorized into two broad groups- 1. Brahmana (Vedic) culture 2. Sramana culture The philosophical schools of Mimansa, Vedanta, Nyaya and Vaisesika fall into the first category. The......More

Jain Religion- Nomenclature

  • Jain Religion: Nomenclature In the Jain canonical texts (called Agamas), the adjective 'Arhat' is appended with Lord Rsabha. The religion propounded by the 'Arhat' is known as the 'Arhata Dharma'. This is the ancient......More

Organization of the Monastic Order

  • Organization of the Monastic Order The Monastic Order of the Jains was governed by self- discipline. It was divided into nine ganas or sub divisions. Eleven ganadharas directed these sub-divisions. Seven subdivisions had a single head each.......More


  • Universe Jainism has dealt elaborately with cosmology. According to it, the universe is composed of six substances: 1. Dharmastikaya (the medium of motion). It enables jiva (soul) and pudgala (matter and energy) to move just as......More

The Existence of Pancastikaya

  • The Existence of Pancastikaya Apart from Time, five of the above six substances are in the form of Astikaya. Here is an interesting event depicting the nature of these five Astikayas. Once upon a time Lord Mahavira was staying at......More

Reality (Sat)

  • Reality (Sat) Reality, that is, everything that exists, is possessed of three characteristics viz., utpada (origination), vyaya (cessation) and dhrauvya (persistence). A reality is that which has all these qualities. The question arises......More


  • God The concept of God in Jainism is understood in a quite different way to most other religions. According to Jainism, God is not one, but rather an infinite number of Gods. Some say that Jainism is an atheist philosophy, because it does......More


  • Time-wheel The time-wheel is a symbol of the ascending and descending order of this universe. When the wheel of time moves in the descending direction, the geographical condition, human civilization and culture degenerate and when the wheel......More


  • Creation Many questions have been raised about Creation: Who created this world? When and how did it take its shape? What is the basic substance that it is made of? How does it sustain its self when there is a constant process of change?......More

Three Spiritual Gems

  • Three Spiritual Gems Jain philosophy is essentially a philosophy of emancipation. According to Jain philosophy, there are three factors leading to emancipation: 1. Right faith 2. Right knowledge 3. Right conduct These......More

Nine Categories of Truth (Tattvas)

  • Nine Categories of Truth (Tattvas) All the philosophies of the world have different traditions and beliefs, and their own metaphysics - as does Jain philosophy, A category of Truth means a real entity. Principally they can be classified into......More

Atmavada (Doctrine of Soul)

  • Atmavada (Doctrine of Soul) The Jain philosophy believes in the existence of 'soul'. Consciousness is an eternal characteristic of the soul. There are two types of soul: 1. Mundane Soul 2. Liberated Soul Mundane Soul......More


  • Karmavada Subtle particles of matter, belonging to Karma-vargana capable of being transformed into different varieties according to the nature of activities, are called karma. There are eight types of karma: 1. Janavaraniya karma......More

Doctrine of Lesya

  • Doctrine of Lesya Lesya is a very subtle level of consciousness, which is in the form of radiations. It is categorized into 6 types - Krsna, Nila, Kapota, Tejas, Padma and Sukla. Out of them, the first three lesyas are malevolent and......More

Doctrine of Gunasthana

  • Doctrine of Gunasthana Fourteen stages of spiritual development of the jiva have been propounded based upon the purity of the soul attained through the gradual shedding of karma. These stages are called jivasthana or gunasthana. The fourteen......More

Jain Ethics

  • Jain Ethics Non-violence The first & foremost principle of Jain philosophy is non-violence (ahimsa), Non-violence means not to kill or hurt any living being with the body, speech or mind. This is possible only for those persons who......More

Jain Monastic Conduct

  • Jain Monastic Conduct Lord Mahavira has prescribed religion for both lay followers as well as ascetics: 1. Agara Dharma- i.e., Religion or code of conduct for  household. 2. Anagara Dharma - i.e., Religion or code of conduct......More

Code of Conduct for the Lay Follower

  • Code of Conduct for the Lay Follower After having laid down a discipline for the ascetics, Mahavira laid down a code of conduct for householders too. He said that although householders cannot be free from their responsibilities concerning......More

Jain Logic

  • Jain Logic Anekanta We find the description of the Nayavada and Syadvada in the canonical literature (Agamas). The term 'syad' has been used to describe the Naya but the doctrine of 'Anekanta' evolved later on. The term......More

Jain Literature

  • Jain Literature Scripture The scriptures propounded by Parsva were available even up to the period of Tirthankara Mahavira. They are called 'Purvas'. However, no written teachings or records given by Rsabha (1st Tirthankara)......More

Salient Features of Jain Religion

  • Salient Features of Jain Religion Universal Religion One of the special qualities of the Jain religion is that it can be acknowledged as a 'universal religion'. Many creeds insist, "join my religion, come to my sect, only......More

Jain Mantra

  • Jain Mantra There is a popular 'Mantra' which has been accepted by both divisions of Jains, Svetambara as well as Digambara. It is called "Namaskara Mahamantra": Namo Arahamtanam Namo Siddhanam Namo......More

Jain Festivals (Parvas)

  • Jain Festivals (Parvas) In Indian culture, various festivals playa very significant role in the life of people. Indian people give great importance to these festivals, and celebrate them with great enthusiasm. Festivals fall into three......More

Do you have any questions?

Watch Now